Arizona Ranked First On List Of States With Harshest DUI Laws In The Nation
PHOENIX – A study conducted recently showed that the laws related to drinking and driving in Arizona are the strictest among all states.
According to WalletHub, if an individual commits the crime of driving under the influence of alcohol in Arizona then he/she faces harsh penalties. A 1st time offender is sentenced to minimum 10-days in prison and this punishment for a first time offense is the strictest in the nation. Other than that, the 90-day minimum sentence for second time offenders is the strictest from all the states for 2nd time offenders. The offender faces a driver’s license suspension of up to 12 months; community service may be imposed on the offender for the crime. In the year 2007, Arizona was the only state that made the installation of ignition interlock device mandatory for 1st time DUI offenders and the time period for which the offender had to use it was 1 year.
The website checked and analyzed all the categories to rank states with strictest drunken driving laws to the states with lenient alcohol related laws. These categories included minimum jail time which a person has to serve and the amount of money which is fined to offenders for both a first and second offense. The laws associated with license suspension and average insurance hike were also considered for the ranking.
Arizona may crackdown on drivers who chose to drink alcohol and get behind the wheel and it never got the position below 15th in the nation but WalletHub showed that the state also got 2nd position in the list for its preventative struggle.
News Source: www.KTAR.com