Crimes are categorized into distinct categories in every state, the most common being misdemeanor and felony crimes. Misdemeanors are the less serious crimes and are punishable by up to six months in jail. In some states, a misdemeanor criminal offense can carry up to one year in jail. Apart from jail time, punishments for misdemeanors can also include fines, probation, community service and restitution.
Under Arizona laws, misdemeanors are classified as Class 1, 2 or 3, depending on their severity, with Class 3 being the least serious misdemeanor. Penalties and sentences for each class of misdemeanor crimes in Arizona are given below:
Class 1 Misdemeanors
A Class 1 misdemeanor crime in Arizona carries a fine of up to $2,500 and is punishable by up to 6 months in jail. Prostitution and pimping fall under this category of crime.
Class 2 Misdemeanors
A Class 2 misdemeanor crime in Arizona carries a fine of up to $750 and is punishable by up to 4 months in jail. Transferring an STD in Arizona, or intentionally exposing another person to an infectious disease falls under this category of crime.
Class 3 Misdemeanors
A Class 3 misdemeanor crime in Arizona is considered the least serious and carries a fine of up to $500. The person facing a Class 3 misdemeanor charge is also punishable by up to 30 days in jail. A minor, under the age of 21 in possession of alcohol or asking a person to buy, sell or give alcohol, falls under the Class 3 misdemeanor.
Defendants charged with misdemeanors are often entitled to a jury trial. They are advised to get in touch with a criminal defense attorney in Arizona immediately to fight the misdemeanor charge. No matter the severity of the crime, a misdemeanor conviction can have serious consequences and make your life very unpleasant, so talking to an Arizona criminal defense attorney about your case can be helpful. An attorney will guide you through the whole process, tell you what to expect in court and how to prepare your case to protect your rights and get the best possible outcome.