How Does Driver License Suspension Work In Arizona?
A DUI arrest in Arizona will trigger two separate cases, one is the administrative hearing with the MVD and the second is the criminal case with the court system. Drivers charged with a DUI in Arizona have only 15 days from the date of their DUI arrest to request a hearing with the Arizona DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles). Failure to request this hearing will lead to a suspension of the drivers license for 90 days.
To avoid getting their driver’s license suspended, anyone who registers a BAC level of 0.08% or more at the time of arrest must contact a DUI attorney immediately to discuss any issues related to their license suspension.
License Suspensions in Arizona
In the state of Arizona, the MVD (Motor Vehicle Division) will suspend the drivers license for any of these reasons:
- When the driver refuses the administration of a blood, breath, or urine test
- When the driver is convicted of a DUI charge
- When the driver operates a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs
- When the suspect fails to appear for court dates
- When the chemical test registers a BAC of 0.08% or more
- When an offender neglects to pay fines for traffic violations, moving violations, or speeding tickets
- When the person is found responsible for an accident that results in the death or serious injury of another person
- When the driver is engaged in any form of reckless or aggressive driving
- When the driver commits felonies in a vehicle
- When a driver acquires more than 12 points on their MVD driving record in one year
- When a driver acquires 2 major moving violations within 1 year
- When a driver uses a fake I.D.
- When the driver violates insurance laws
Depending on the severity of the violation, the license suspension can last for months or even years.
Right to a Hearing after License Suspension
Under Arizona law, the accused driver has the right to dispute their license suspension. At the request of the driver, the state must hold a hearing. The MVD hearing officer decides if the suspension is valid at this hearing. Based on the decision, the license suspension may be void or reinstated. If you are not sure how to proceed with an MVD hearing, it is advised to get in touch with an experienced DUI attorney in Arizona.
Driver License Reinstatement
Once all the terms of the license suspension are satisfied, the license may be reinstated. This can be done either online at the DMV website or by paying the reinstatement fee. This fee may vary from $10 – $250, depending on the circumstances of the suspension.
In some cases, the driver may also face additional suspensions and penalties from state and federal courts, apart from the MVD suspensions. If this happens, the individual will have to satisfy court requirements as well as MVD requirements in order to reinstate their Arizona driver’s license. You may be required to install an ignition interlock device in order to satisfy your court or MVD requirements.
Whatever your case, get in touch with an experienced DUI lawyer in Arizona to have your driver’s license reinstated. Attorney Brian Sloan has helped hundreds of clients involved in DUI and Vehicular-Related offenses over the years. Call the law office of Attorney Brian Sloan at 480-900-0384 or 602-900-0384 now to discuss your case.