Safety laws for drivers in Arizona are given below:
Seatbelts – Any passenger sitting in the front seat of a motor vehicle, that is built after 1972, must have their lap belt properly fastened and adjusted. If the shoulder belt is available, it must be fastened and adjusted accordingly. Drivers may receive a traffic citation if they are travelling with a passenger below the age of 16 years who is not wearing a seat belt. Any passenger with a medical or physical disability is exempt from this rule.
Child car seat laws – Children under the age of 8 years, or those under 4ft 9 in, must be properly secured with a child restraint device while riding a vehicle. The child restraint device must meet federal standards. Children between the ages 5 to 7 years, or those under 4ft 9in MUST ride in a booster seat. Failure to do so will carry a $50 penalty for the driver.
Children older than 8 years or taller than 4ft 9in may use a seat belt when riding in a vehicle.
NHSTA has federal guidelines given on their website which must be followed to find the right car seat for your child. The child car seat requirements will vary, depending on the age, size, and height of your child. The state of Arizona also provides helpful information on how to protect child passengers riding in a vehicle.
Any driver travelling with a passenger below the age of 8 years, who does not appear to be wearing proper restraints, must be reported by calling (800) 505-BABY immediately. The caller must inform the vehicle’s license plate number, the state and location they are calling from, and a description of where the child was sitting.
Motorcycles – Motorcyclists are required to wear protective glasses, goggles, or a transparent face shield when operating a motorcycle. If the bike already has a protective windshield, then the driver is exempt from wearing extra safety gear. In Arizona, all motorcycle drivers and passengers under 1 years of age must wear a safety helmet when riding.
Cell phones – School bus drivers in Arizona are prohibited from using cell phones while driving a school bus, whether calling or texting, unless they are using it for emergency purposes.
For noncommercial drivers, there is no statewide cell phone use ban in the state of Arizona currently. Those who plan to use a cell phone while driving may want to think twice, as phone usage while driving is a cause of major accidents every day.
Headlights – Headlights must be used between sunset and sunrise, or when necessary.
Aggressive drivers – An excessively aggressive driver may be reported to the local police department or by calling 911 in case of an emergency.
Impaired drivers – Impaired drivers must be reported to the Department of Public Safety by calling (602) 223-2000, or by calling 911 in case of an emergency. The caller should try and get as much information about the driver and the vehicle when making the call, such as the make, model, and license plate number of the vehicle along with the current location.
Unattended animals – Anyone who intentionally or recklessly leaves their animal in their vehicle, causing injury or death of the animal, may be cited for a criminal offense. Authorities are allowed to take necessary action to open the vehicle as needed. Anyone who notices an unattended animal in a vehicle can call the local authorities to report it if they feel the animal may be in danger. The informant must provide the necessary details such as the location of the vehicle when making the call.