Cell phone usage is banned for school bus drivers in Arizona. For the typical driver, there is no ban on cell phone use while driving in Arizona. Similarly, there is no ban on texting for any driver in Arizona. Although laws banning the use of handheld cell phones and texting have been introduced into the Arizona legislature, the laws have not yet passed.
The only exceptions to these laws are in the cities of Phoenix, Flagstaff, and Tucson where drivers are prohibited from texting while driving. Drivers found texting while driving in these cities face a fine of $100, or $250 if they cause an accident while texting.
A summary of the current laws and prohibitions in Arizona regarding cell phone usage and texting is given below:
- School bus drivers are banned from using a handheld cell phone in Arizona while driving
- There is no ban on the use of a handheld cell phone for typical drivers in Arizona
- There is no state-wide ban on texting for drivers in Arizona
- Texting drivers may find themselves facing extra charges if they were not driving at a reasonable speed
- Cities of Phoenix, Flagstaff, and Tucson prohibit drivers from texting while driving. Drivers face a fine of $100 or $250 in case of an accident when texting while driving
In case you have more questions regarding cell phone usage and texting laws in Arizona, call the law office of Brian D. Sloan at 480-900-0384 or 602-900-0384 for a Free Initial Consultation.