DUI judge arrested on the suspicion of driving drunken
It is reported that an Arizona judge, who hears felony DUI cases, was stopped by the police recently and taken into custody on suspicion of driving under the influence.
Law enforcement officials reported that the judge, who is from Coconino County, was observed swerving his vehicle on the road. Upon investigation, he admitted that he had consumed prescription painkillers and alcohol before getting behind the wheel.
According to the law enforcement officer who stopped the judge, he observed the judge’s vehicle swerving towards oncoming vehicles and he believed that the driver had taken some kind of intoxicating substance. The incident took place in Flagstaff last month.
After stopping his vehicle, the judge was given a breathalyzer test. According to the officer, the judge’s BAC was recorded at 0.229. The judge was recently removed from his judicial duties.
The judge has to face severe consequences if he is convicted of driving under the influence of intoxicated products. The judge is already well versed in Arizona’s drunken driving laws. He must be knowing the conditions and problems he has to face after this incident as they apply to all Arizona residents who are found guilty of driving under the influence. There are different punishments for different conditions and situations, however, not everyone charged with driving under the influence is well versed with the penalties and punishments associated with it, but for those who know their rights and the way to protect them, drunk driving charges become critical and serious for them.
Here is some information regarding drunken driving laws in the state of Arizona:
If a person aged above 21 years has a blood alcohol content of 0.08 or above, that person is considered intoxicated according to Arizona DUI laws. However, DUI law becomes more strict for individuals below the age of 21 years. Arizona law shows zero tolerance in this regard. Drivers or motorists under the age of 21 are considered intoxicated if they have a blood alcohol content above 0.00.
Those who are convicted of DUI, even first-time offenders, are required to install an ignition interlock device in their vehicle. Moreover, the punishments for a DUI conviction are severe which include heavy fines, 10 days in jail and driver’s license suspension for 90 days.
Those who are punished under DUI laws in Arizona have to keep the ignition interlock installed in their vehicle for one year. An ignition interlock device requires the motorist to blow into the device when they want to start the vehicle. Hence, the ignition interlock will prevent the vehicle from starting if the driver blowing into the device has alcohol in their system.
Arizona DUI laws are considered some of the strictest in the nation. For anyone facing DUI charges, whether a local resident of Arizona or a judge, it is very important to consult with a responsible and capable Arizona criminal defense attorney so that one could be defended in a strong way and to protect himself or herself from the penalties associated with a DUI conviction.
There are harsher punishments for those convicted with aggravated DUI charges. Offenders with a blood alcohol content between 0.15 and 0.19 have to face the penalty of minimum $2,500 fine and about 30 days in jail. The punishments for those drivers with BAC above 0.20 are harsher still. Along with fines, these offenders who come under super extreme DUI charges have to use the ignition interlock device for 18 months.
In case of judges, if the BAC level reported above 0.20 percent, the fine reaches to a minimum of $2,750 and at least 45 days in jail.