Arizona ranks high when it comes to DUI crackdown/enforcement laws
PHOENIX – Stricter drunk driving laws and rules are being proposed by NTSB (National Transportation Safety Board). All the 50 states will be affected by the new laws. NTSB officials recommend that the BAC threshold which is used to determine whether someone is driving under the influence of alcohol be decreased from 0.08 percent to 0.05 percent nationwide this week or not.
The new DUI laws of Arizona are recognized as the harshest in the nation. For many Arizona residents, it’s a sobering thought.
The director of the governor’s Office of Highway Safety, Alberto Gutier said that there are already some strict DUI laws present in Arizona but a new federal laws will not have much impact on Arizona. “Not only the toughest laws in the country, but the toughest enforcement in the country. We enforce the laws, not only for DUI, but also DUI and drugs,” said Gutier.
In 2006, 315 people died and nearly 59,000 were injured in drunk driving crashes in Arizona. According to Mothers Against Drunk Driving, the number of alcohol-related deaths and accidents in Arizona has decreased 46% since 2007. Another reason for which Arizona is in the list of top 10 states with strict drunk driving laws is that even if motor vehicle drivers have a BAC level below 0.08 percent, they can still be charged and arrested said Kelley Dupps with M.A.D.D.
“Here in Arizona we have a law that says you can be pulled over and arrested for DUI if you’re impaired to the slightest degree. Whether that’s .04 or .07, Arizona has some of the strictest DUI laws and enforcement in the nation,” he said. In this state, the state lawmakers have consistently made DUI enforcement a priority said Dupps. Every year, hundreds millions of dollars are distributed to help law enforcement pay for overtime to keep DUI patrols and checkpoints going.
The installation of ignition interlock device which requires the DUI offenders blow into a breathalyzer to check the BAC level before their car will start is one of the reasons of reduction in drunk driving deaths and road accidents, experts told this to CBS 5 News. The ignition is simply disabled if the reading exceeds the specified number. Recently, a law was passed in Arizona that made it mandatory for drivers convicted of DUI for the 1st time to install an interlock device in their motor vehicles for 6 months.