An Aggravated Driving Under the Influence charge is taken very seriously in the state of Arizona.
If you are stopped and arrested for a third DUI offense within seven years, or if your license was revoked or suspended at the time, or there was a child at or under the age of 15 in the vehicle, or you were ordered to have an Ignition Interlock Device at the time of this new DUI arrest, or you were driving the wrong way on the roadway, then the DUI will be charged as a Felony.
The charge will be considered a second or third offense Aggravated DUI if you have any prior felony Aggravated DUIs in your entire life, and you are charged with another Aggravated DUI. The punishment can also be equally harsh if you have prior Felony convictions that are not DUI-related.
A 2nd Offense Felony Aggravated DUI in Arizona, or a second offense Aggravated DUI, is considered a very serious offense in Arizona. Anyone charged with a second-offense Aggravated DUI in Arizona will face a “forever allegeable” charge, which can be used against a person as a Prior Felony Conviction if they were to ever get any new Felony charge.
Once convicted of a second-offense Aggravated DUI in the state of Arizona, the person can face anywhere from 2.5 years up to 7.5 years in prison. They will also lose their driver’s license for a period of at least 3 years. If they decide to regain their driver’s license after the 3-year suspension period, they will be required to install an Ignition Interlock Device in their vehicle for 2 years. The cost of installation of the IID will average from $2,000 to $2,400 over the course of the installation and maintenance.
Your car insurance rates will also spike and you will be required to have an SR-22 insurance policy.. The SR-22 policy costs can vary, but it could end up costing several thousand dollars more over the course of the two years. That is on top of your normal car insurance, which will also likely go up due to the conviction.
A summary of all the consequences faced after a 2nd Offense Felony Aggravated DUI conviction in Arizona is given below:
- An average prison sentence of 4.5 years, but it can be anywhere between 2.5 years to 7.5 years Revocation of the driver’s license for at least 3 years
- Required installation of an Ignition Interlock Device for 2 years after regaining the driver’s license back The cost of installation and maintenance of the IID over the course of two years, which can add up to several thousands of dollars The driver will be required to have an SR-22 insurance policy
- Around $4,600 in fines and fees
- Alcohol Counseling
A Second-offense Aggravated DUI charge in Arizona is taken very seriously and requires the services of an experienced DUI Defense Attorney. An experienced DUI Defense Attorney can potentially have the charge reduced to a lesser Felony offense, or possibly even a Misdemeanor DUI Offense, but every case is different, and the outcomes depends on whether there are any legal or factual issues in the case.
If you or someone you know is facing a Second-offense Aggravated DUI in Arizona, call Attorney Brian Sloan at the Law Offices of Brian D. Sloan for a Free Initial Consultation at 480-900-0384 or 602-900-0384.